2023 9th International Conference on Renewable Energy and Development (ICRED 2023)

ICRED 2022 Keynote Speakers

Prof. Atsuo Kawamura
Yokohama National University, Japan

(IEEE Life Fellow)  

Atsuo Kawamura (S’77-M’81-SM’96-F’02-LF’2019 of IEEE) received the B.S.E.E., M.S.E.E., and Ph.D. degrees in electrical engineering from the University of Tokyo, Tokyo, Japan, in 1976, 1978, and 1981, respectively.
In 1981, he joined to the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, University of Missouri, Columbia as a Postdoctoral Fellow, where he was an Assistant Professor from 1983 to 1986. Since 1986, he has been with the Division of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Yokohama National University, Yokohama, Japan, where he was first an Associate Professor and later became a Professor in 1996. He served as a dean of College of Engineering Science and Graduate School of Engineering from 2013 to 2015. He has become Professor Emeritus in 2019, and now is a professor of endowed chair ( Power Electronics) at the same university. He has served to completion of 38 Ph.D and 145 Master’s and 179 Bacheler’s students. He holds 7 patents and has published more than 130 journal papers and 320 international and 560 domestic conference papers, and 9 books.
His research interests include power electronics, digital control, electric vehicles, robotics, train traction control, etc. He received several awards including the IEEE IAS Transactions Prize Paper Award in 1988, the Prize Paper Award of IEE of Japan in 1996, IEEE IES Transactions Best Paper Awards in 2001 and 2002 , and EPE-PEMC Award in 2008. He became a Fellow of the IEEE in 2002 with the citation, "For Contributions to Real-Time Digital Feedback Control of PWM Inverters.”
Dr. Kawamura is a Fellow of the Institute of Electrical Engineers of Japan(IEE of Japan), and member of Robotics Society of Japan. He was the conference chairperson of the IEEE/IAS and IEEJ/IAS joint Power Conversion Conference (PCC-Yokohama) in 1993. He was an associate editor of IEEE Power Electronics Transactions from1995 to 2000. He was the program chair of the 2009 Robotics Society of Japan Annual Meeting, and was the conference Chair of IPEC-Sapporo-ECCE-Asia in 2010 and a president of IEE of Japan/IAS(Industry Application Society) in 2012-2013, and a conference chair of 2018 IEEJ IAS annual meeting (JIASC) at Yokohama.


Prof. King-Jet Tseng
Singapore Institute of Technology, Singapore

(IEEE Fellow, IET Fellow)  

King-Jet Tseng was born in Singapore and studied at Gan Eng Seng School and Hwa Chong Junior College before receiving his B.Eng. (First Class) and M.Eng. from National University of Singapore, and Ph.D. from Cambridge University in United Kingdom. He has more than 25 years of academic, research, industrial and professional experience in electrical power and energy systems. He has been the Head of Power Engineering Division in Nanyang Technological University and the Board Member of the Singapore Green Building Council. He co-founded the Singapore-Berkeley Building Efficiency and Sustainability for the Tropics (SinBerBEST) program and the Electrical Power Systems Integration Laboratory @ NTU, a Rolls-Royce research facility. He has directly supervised and graduated about 30 PhD students and also inspired a number of technology start-up companies. He is a Fellow of IEEE, a Fellow of IET, a Fellow of IES and registered as Chartered Engineer with UK Engineering Council. Currently, he is the Professor and Director of Electrical Power Engineering at Singapore Institute of Technology. He has made important contributions to interior permanent magnet synchronous machines, resilient grid interconnection of distributed energy resources, dynamic voltage compensation, arc modeling for transient simulations and energy storage systems in utility applications.


Prof. Jinyue Yan
Mälardalen University, Sweden

(Editor-in-chief of Applied Energy (IF=9.746, Elsevier), H-index 62)  

Prof. Jerry Yan, PhD: Prof. Jerry Yan is chair professor of Energy Engineering at Mälardalen University, Sweden. Prof. Yan's research interests include advanced energy systems; renewable energy; advanced power generation; climate change mitigation technologies and related environment and policy etc. Prof. Yan published about 400 papers including papers in Science, Nature Energy, Nature Climate & Nature Communications and hold 10+ patents with about 15000+ citations and H-index 62. Prof. Yan is the editor-in-chief of Applied Energy journal (Impact factor 9.746), Advances in Applied Energy, & editor-in-chief of Handbook of Clean Energy Systems. He is the Chair of International Conferences on Applied Energy. He is an academician of European Academy of Sciences and Arts, and serves as the advisory expert to the UN, EU, & ADB etc. Founder of ICAE, AEii, UNiLAB, iCET, Energy Proceedings, EnerarXiv and OC:E etc. He has led research platform (Future Energy Profile) with funding of over 80 MEuro by Swedish Knowledge Foundation and industrial partners, and participated in several EU Projects (FP5, FP6, FP7, and Horizon) and other international and national projects. He was granted with several awards, such as Global Human Settlements Award of Green Technology, 2014 with supported by UNDP etc. Finalist of SWFF (Securing Water for Food: A Grand Challenge for Development) award by USAID, Government of Sweden and the Netherlands, 2015; William Mong Distinguished Lecture, Hong Kong, 2017. Energy Islands’ Award conferred by the European Union with the project TILOS (2017), Highly Cited Researcher (one of the two selected in engineering in Sweden) by Web of Sciences, Swedish Royal Academy of Engineering Sciences (IVA)’s Research2Business Top100.


Prof. Hassan Bevrani
University of Kurdistan, Iran

Hassan Bevrani received PhD degree in electrical engineering from Osaka University in 2004. He is a full professor, the Program Leader of Micro/Smart Grids Research Center (SMGRC), and Vice Chancellor for Research at the University of Kurdistan. Over years, he has worked with Osaka University (Japan), Kumamoto University (Japan), Queensland University of Technology (Australia), Kyushu Institute of Technology (Japan), Centrale Lille (France), and Technical University of Berlin (Germany). He is the author of 5 international books (including Robust power system frequency control, Springer, 2009; Intelligent automatic generation control, CRC Press, 2011; Power system monitoring and control, IEEE-Wiley, 2014; and Microgrid dynamics and control, Wiley, 2017), 15 book chapters, and more than 300 journal/conference papers. Prof. Bevrani is a senior member of IEEE and he was the gust editor of two volumes of Elsevier Energy Procedia (100 and 147). His current research interests include Smart grid operation and control, power system stability, Microgrid dynamics and control, and Intelligent/robust control applications in power electric industry. More information is available in http://smgrc.uok.ac.ir/